Can’t Flip the Pages Fast Enough

Jordan is having the first part of his surgery today. After a very long and chaotic morning, sweet Jordan’s surgery was running over 2 hours late. Of course, he is all smiles and positivity. 

I have been receiving hourly calls from the nurses letting me know that everything has been going smoothly. We are thinking he will be out of surgery after 8-9 tonight. 

Meanwhile, me, my sweet in-laws, and my mother are passing the time by rotating waiting rooms, snacking on Pop Rocks, and drinking cups of coffee… Remaining occupied is one of my first lines of defense I use during my fragile-hearted seasons in order to guard my mind from going down too dark of alleys. Perhaps that is why so many times my sweet Father encourages me to “be still.” For me, this almost seems like a dare. If I dare to be still, I may hurt or wander, but He quickly steps in the clouds of my mind and reminds me of His promises.

In these still moments, I am reminded that He is writing mine and Jordan’s story- not the doctors. The ultimate Author has had His pen in hand for 23 years now, carefully developing every intricate piece of our story… and so far, He’s written a pretty incredible story -if I do say so myself!  

When I was in middle school, I asked the Lord to write me a beautiful love story. One that would turn heads and show others the Love is real. Four months into marriage, and I am still breathless at the fairytale He has given me.

Thank You Dearest, for being my Author.

I was talking to my lovely mother-in-law about how I feel like Jordan and I are at the beginning of our story. I told her how I can feel our happy ending brewing richly right around the corner. I just can’t seem to flip through the pages fast enough to get to our happy ending! 

Later, I felt Jesus say to my heart: I just can’t flip through the pages fast enough either

I love that He not only writes my story, but He waits for me at the happy ending and is eager to see me read every page He meticulously worded and pieced together. It’s like He’s excitedly waiting for me to discover what is in our next chapter. 

 

Waiting rooms are brutal. But I know this is just a page. The next page has something sweeter.

 

 

II Chronicles 20

“…For we are powerless against this great horde that is coming against us. We do not know what to do, but our eyes are on you.” – Judah (vs. 12)

“Do not be afraid and do not be dismayed at this great horde, for the battle is not yours but God’s.” – The Lord, in response (vs. 15)Image

Prince Charming ready to slay the Dragon. See ya cancer.

13 comments

  1. Lindsey kirk · October 24, 2013

    Cady he looks awesome!!!

  2. Carol McLeod · October 24, 2013

    I love you, Cady Morgan Kendall Lewis! The crowd of witnesses are on their feet and cheering you and Jordan on!

    Carol McLeod

  3. bixbygmax6 · October 24, 2013

    Continuing to hold u both up in prayer! God does great and might things for those who put their faith and trusting him. You both are inspiring many to put their faith in God. Thanks for keeping us posted and let us know id there are any specific things we can pray about. Jeremiah 29:11….💚💜💙

  4. Melanie Smith · October 24, 2013

    Standing with you all and believing for miracles! Our 3 children – Isaac (8), Eric (6), and Lauren (4) – are also praying and believing for miracles! We are trusting that Jesus is meeting and exceeding all your needs. We love you all! Your family in Christ – The Smith Family – Scott, Melanie, Isaac, Eric, & Lauren (from Lexington KY).

  5. Lisa Krushinski · October 24, 2013

    Thank you for the update. We are praying here in New Jersey. Praise be to Jesus who purchased Jordan’s healing 2,000 years ago!

  6. Ronda Robertson · October 24, 2013

    Cady—- praying for you both and your next chapter to begin….soon! I love your husbands smile throughout all of this. What a blessing. You are in my thoughts always…I love your love story and have shared it with many. xo

    • Don & Gloria Hail · October 24, 2013

      Cady, we are praying for you and Jordan. “GOD IS GOOD ALL THE TIME.”. So glad that with Him we have so many wonderful things to look forward to. Thanks so much for sharing the updates. Gloria & Don Hail

  7. Bonnie Cooper · October 24, 2013

    Praying in Buffalo,NY for you, Cady, and for Jordan! Your faith is a wonderful example to all of us and we are believing with you.

  8. Ardith Baker · October 24, 2013

    Paul & I are in awe of the faith & love that you two share. Thank you for sharing your love story with us, it is such a blessing! We are praying for you two continually.

  9. Tara Hannon · October 24, 2013

    Just loving you guys tonight and sending you this passage to cheer your hearts. It’s from a little random nook of the Old Testament in 2 Samuel, but I love it. 😉 It reminds me that God does awesome things in our families just because He wants to! Because of His greatness. We don’t even have to “merit” it.

    “Who am I, Sovereign Lord, and what is my family, that you have brought me this far? 19 And as if this were not enough in your sight, Sovereign Lord, you have also spoken about the future of the house of your servant—and this decree, Sovereign Lord, is for a mere human![a]

    20 “What more can David say to you? For you know your servant, Sovereign Lord. 21 For the sake of your word and according to your will, you have done this great thing and made it known to your servant.

    22 “How great you are, Sovereign Lord! There is no one like you, and there is no God but you, as we have heard with our own ears.

  10. Rita Lawrence Cueva · October 25, 2013

    It’s so great to know that God is our Author and our Finisher! He is carefully and delicately and divinely writing your love story. He is with you and Jordan and your families every step of the way and He is definitely touching the hearts of many through this journey that you are both on. God is so good and faithful and I thank Him that He has Jordan in His safe hands and that He is taking care of everything!
    I pray for quick recovery and that God guides the surgeons to make the best and wisest decisions in regards to Jordan and the next steps to come. I pray that God would continue to bring His miraculous healing upon Jordan and I thank Him now for the life you will both have together in the years to come!

    Thank you for your tremendous courage and trust in the Lord. Your faith is astounding and a sight to behold. Thank you.

  11. Marcia Mitchell · October 25, 2013

    Darling Cady, Phil and I are praying for you both. You are so precious to so many people and we count it such a privilege and blessing to know you and Jordan.

  12. Rebecca Jacobsen · October 25, 2013

    Beautifully beautifully written, Cady. God is using you both mightily! We are Praying fervently for Jordan.

Leave a Reply

