Stupid Faith

 

 

 

 

Image

This was captured right before Jordan proposed to me.
He said, “Cady this is where I want our relationship to begin, to end, and this is where we will always run.” Then he asked me to be his wife.
Thank you Sean Frank Photography for capturing this moment.

 

Friends, family, and even new family members we have yet to meet:

 

Thank you for your prayers. Your overwhelmingly loving response to our post has truly touched our hearts and primed our faith even more. To those of you whom we’ve yet to meet, thank you for the prayers and fasting- it already feels like you are family! Family in spirit is very true to say. Thank you all for the arms of love and support. Jordan and I have felt your prayers (many I have felt in the middle of long nights, during horrific doctor’s appointments, and as soon as I wake up.) Thank you. 

Jordan and I went to countless amounts of doctor’s appointments last week. An average of 5 a day. Over and and over again being reminded of the severity of my husband’s condition, and how his vision and even death are very near in our future. Looking at the scans, I would have to agree. And I would have to thank the doctors for their excellent and professional opinions. We appreciate their work. But now we’ve come to a place where our doctors have admitted their limitations, and only a miracle is what will save us.

So this is where I stand: I have stupid faith. I am drawing the line. Cancer will not take my husband’s life, and it will not take his vision. In fact, it will not even touch our children and grandchildren. It stops here. It stops at the feet of Jesus. It amazes me how my sweet Savior collects my tears and takes what I have to make something breath-taking from my own grisly attempt to put my faith together.

Stupid faith is a beautiful thing. It acknowledges the facts, the scans, the percentages, the diagnosis, and then it lifts its heavy head to the face of Jesus and says, I still know You will touch this. Stupid faith is all I have, and I know that somehow He will use it.

Lord, when my head is too heavy to lift to Your face, take Your hands and make my eyes meet Yours. 

Stupid faith isn’t a state of denial. I’m definitely not in denial. Stupid faith is quite apt on the severity and practicality of the situation. However, it is stupid, so it chooses hope anyway. Another reason why stupid faith is, well, stupid is because when you have to have it, you don’t really want to be in the stupid situation in the first place. 🙂

Jordan and I decided to come to Redding, CA to attend Bethel’s healing services. We are baffled at the peace and joy we’ve experienced here. Another cool thing that has happened while we’ve been here is that Jordan’s eye swelling has decreased a little every day. 🙂

 

We are expecting a miracle. We know this is not the end, but just the beginning. It’s so odd, because I know where Jordan and I are now is exactly where I know the Lord wants us. He will protect us, He will restore us. He will save us.

Let every thing that has breath praise the Lord.

 

 

You have kept count of my tossings;
    put my tears in your bottle.
    Are they not in your book?
Then my enemies will turn back
    in the day when I call.
    This I know, that[d] God is for me.
 In God, whose word I praise,
    in the Lord, whose word I praise,
in God I trust; I shall not be afraid.
    What can man do to me?

I must perform my vows to you, O God;

I will render thank offerings to you.

 For you have delivered my soul from death,
    yes, my feet from falling,
that I may walk before God
    in the light of life.

 

68 comments

  1. Emmie · October 9, 2013

    Dear Jordan and Cady,I pray to God Almighty that he’ll heal you and believing that
    nothings impossible with God..Please check Halleluiah acres..Hacres.com.

  2. Lynn Campbell · October 9, 2013

    Absolutely! When I heard that the doctor’s had done all, my first thought was, “well then all the glory will go to God!”. I’m glad you are having stupid faith! You must see Jordan already healed, not as the doctors are stating. They are only man. Yes, we acknowledge the facts but God will change the facts if we believe the outcome he has in store now. And his outcome is health and life and healing as you are believing!
    I hope you have had a chance to read Believer’s Authority, Andrew Wommack. It would be extremely helpful in encouraging you and growing your faith. I can’t imagine how difficult it must be. For some reason the Lord has put Jordan on my heart for weeks now. When I wake in the middle of the night he is typically the first thing on my mind and I pray for you both and directly to his cancer to leave. I’m no expert at this and you guys probably know more than me, but I do know my God, our God is full of love and mercy and wants us well.

    If you get a minute check out awmi.net, TV broadcasts, 10/3 date.
    A sister in Christ, lynn

  3. Rita · October 9, 2013

    I have been praying and asking people to pray for you and Jordan! A lady in our church was just miraculously healed of kidney cancer! She called it out every morning when she woke up and she was supposed to have surgery to remove it and when they did tests, there were no signs of any cancer! I am standing in faith on this miracle, that it can be your miracle! God is going to use this obstacle in your life and turn it around for His glory! Stay strong in the faith always! Let Him carry you through this storm in your lives! The victory is in Him! Praise God that the swelling has gone down! Continue to believe despite what anyone says, that Jordan is healed in the name of Jesus!
    -Rita, Brian & Britan Cueva

  4. Bryan Groves · October 10, 2013

    Father God, we thank you that Your grace is sufficient and that Your power is made perfect in weakness. We thank You in faith for the healing that You are bringing. In Jesus Name, amen.

    • Angie Fernandez · October 11, 2013

      Father God,
      Our Great Physician, having the ability to do great things beyond what we can ask or even think, I lift up Jordan and Cady in prayer and ask that you give them peace and hope unsurpassed in this time of uncertainty about what doctors are telling them. I thank you for the healing blood of Christ and I thank you that soon Jordan’s healing will be revealed and all praise will be to our Savior. In Christ’s holy name, Amen.

  5. vallavilla · October 10, 2013

    We all need to have that faith. I call mine my “crazy” faith. I’m inspired and it’s making me stronger. Just witnessing to us makes me want to keep drawing closer to God. I’m reminded of Job’s story. God sees your suffering and pain. Our Jesus is also hurting and crying with you. Stay strong! God sees everything. Job 28:23-25

    My heart, thoughts and prayers for you both. May God strengthen you, give you grace to stand strong until the day He fulfills His great plans for your lives.

  6. theadebolayinka · October 10, 2013

    Reblogged this on The Lightning Love and commented:
    Powerful and beautiful.

  7. pam and gene smith · October 10, 2013

    Thank you Jesus that you hear our cry. You are our deliverer and our healer. Our eyes are on you the one who perfects our faith and delivers us from enemies too strong for us ( in our strength). Come quickly. Make manifest the glory of your Presence where no disease can hide. Let every blessing that comes to the seed of Abraham rest on Jordan and Cady to deliver them from the heat of the desert to the house of Bethel where flowing streams of life giving water gush forth.

  8. Barbara · October 10, 2013

    Bethel is an amazing church, so glad you found it!

    • mary beth pressley · October 12, 2013

      If you can find them any of Lillian Yeoman’s books are fabulous. The chapter from Healing from Heaven (I Think) called “The Praise Cure” I awesome. God Bless you!

  9. Pete Sawyer · October 11, 2013

    Hi Jordan and Cady. We have never met. But I met your grandmother last year and see her occasionally at a coffee shop my daughter works at. SUCH FAITH!! So many people thinking of you, praying, fasting, and believing in and for you. You are on the right road and are beating the devil at his own game. You will finish the race on the course, the looooong course God has laid out for your lives — garsh it’s long and with a decade of decades and exploits!!

  10. Laica O. Marquez · October 14, 2013

    I have never met you guys but my friend who is a sister named Ana de Guzman asked me to join in praying for you. I was moved by the Lord to inform different groups to pray for you. God is moving! God is faithful! You are loved!

    Thank you for updating us! Bethel Redding is heaven sent!:)

    Hugs from Manila, Philippines!

    Laica

  11. Brittany · October 14, 2013

    I am extremely blessed when I read your posts and updates. I am blessed by your faith and genuine belief that the good and faithful God will provide a healing and restoration. I continue to pray for the both of you and I too believe that the Lord will provide a miracle beyond your wildest imagination.

    Love & Prayers,
    Brittany

  12. Shelley · October 19, 2013

    Tonight my 6 year old daughter prayed her usual bedtime prayer and at the end asked for God to heal her little sister’s thumb and to heal Jordan Lewis! You are on the hearts of so many and being prayed for by name.

    Believing and standing with you in Franklin TN!

  13. jona · October 23, 2013

    hi Jordan and Cady,
    Through Lynette posts i came to know your blog… i met her in our conference in US…. teary eyed i say a prayer to God declaring for a miracle in Jordan’s life… i know God is ahead of you in this situation and He will surely fight for you in this battle…
    believing that Nothing is impossible…
    We will continue to pray for Jordan and Lewis family
    God bless 😉
    love,.
    Jona from Dubai

  14. Redeemed · October 24, 2013

    “When all around my soul gives way, He then is all my hope and stay”

    Praying for you both. Such bold faith is humbling and challenging to so many – Jesus is certainly being glorified through you!
    Rebecca Coffee

Leave a Reply

