A Call to Arms

My apologies for taking so long to post with an update on what’s going on.  This post will unfortunately not be one with good news and reports but I am confident that what I am going through is nothing but a light momentary affliction which is preparing me an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison (2 Corinthians 4:17). 

For the past seven weeks, I have been going through chemotherapy treatments that have combined three different chemos – weekly Erbitux, tri-weekly Cisplatin, and tri-weekly Taxotere.  Side effects have been difficult, but manageable and have not affected my work schedule.  The most noticeable side effects are fatigue, skin rashes, and hair loss (although i’m not bald yet!).  When I finished my sixth treatment cycle, my oncologist wanted to order some scans to see how the cancer was responding to the chemo, so last Wednesday I had a brain MRI, and a chest/neck/ab CT done.  

On Thursday my wife, mom, mother-in-law and I walked into the oncologist’s office confident that we would receive a good report of the cancer shrinking and chemo working.  Unfortunately, we did not get that report.  The oncologist showed us the radiology report and we were told that the tumors in my head are not responding to the treatment and have grown significantly.  There are 4 tumors in my head all of which have grown with the largest being 6 x 4.2cm in size.  The two large tumors in my lungs have remained stable in size, but new smaller tumors have appeared in different places within my lungs. Immediately my confidence was shattered and emotions of sadness, disappointment, and anger were prevalent.  As we talked about future treatment options we decided to schedule an appointment with a radiation oncologist to see what other options were available.  

As we waited to see the radiation oncologist I let the bad news sink in that the chemo was not working and something new and drastic had to be done.  The tumors were aggressively growing and a new immediate action needed to take place.  Despite feeling beat up and down, a small sense of confidence started to rise up that the radiation oncologist would be able to offer a new and effective treatment plan.  

When we met the new doctor she told us that there are a couple options that she could do to try and get rid of the cancer, but all came with very, very bad news.  She said that because of the placement of my head tumors, blindness in my future is inevitable.  No matter what way I am treated (or not treated) I will go blind.  She said because the tumors are wrapped around my optic nerve and growing so fast that without treatment I can go blind in as soon as 10 days.  One option she offered was to remove the tumors through a cyberknife treatment.  This is a non-invasive alternative to surgery that should be able to remove the tumors but once again would cause me to be permanently blind and would most likely be immediately following treatment.  Another option offered was to use proton therapy to try and get rid of the tumors.  In this case blindness may not be immediate, but would happen at some point soon in my life.    Once again my confidence was shattered and a new wave of discouragement set in.  

With all that being said, my ultimate confidence is not in any earthly doctor but is fully in the Great Physician who will never disappoint.  I’ve never been at such a low point in my life with such bad news staring me directly in the face.  At the same time I have never been set up so perfectly for a miracle.  Doctors have admitted their limits and say they cannot heal or cure me.  I have never so desperately needed a miracle.  

Currently I do not know what my next steps are.  I know that decisions need to be made fast and I am exploring all my options.  Blindness is not an option.  Death is not an option.  I will live a long prosperous life with perfect vision.  I write this as a call to arms.  A desperate plea for prayer and faith.  Prayer for God’s intervention and for a miracle to take place.  Thank you all so very much for your continued prayers and support.  You don’t know how much it means to Cady and I to receive so much love and care from you all.  Your prayers are priceless and we love you all.  

107 comments

  1. Ro Manalo · October 9, 2013

    Praying for you all the way from the Philippines. I am excited to see how God is going to work in this season of your life and your family’s life.

    • jmw · October 10, 2013

      Sing this worship and praise song – “Healer” by Hillsong
      sing it again
      again
      again

  2. Jenn · October 9, 2013

    We are praying for you here in Manila…

  3. malouatienza · October 10, 2013

    I am praying for you. And with you I trust in God’s perfect plan for your life.

  4. Junjun · October 12, 2013

    Members of Every Nation Philippines are praying for you. God is good!

  5. Derri-MSNY/ENYC · October 22, 2013

    Dear Jordan and Cady:
    1 If you fully obey the Lord your God and carefully follow all his commands I give you today, the Lord your God will set you high above all the nations on earth. 2 All these blessings will come on you and accompany you if you obey the Lord your God:

    3 You will be blessed in the city and blessed in the country.

    4 The fruit of your womb will be blessed, and the crops of your land and the young of your livestock—the calves of your herds and the lambs of your flocks.

    5 Your basket and your kneading trough will be blessed.

    6 You will be blessed when you come in and blessed when you go out.

    7 The Lord will grant that the enemies who rise up against you will be defeated before you. They will come at you from one direction but flee from you in seven.

    8 The Lord will send a blessing on your barns and on everything you put your hand to. The Lord your God will bless you in the land he is giving you.

    9 The Lord will establish you as his holy people, as he promised you on oath, if you keep the commands of the Lord your God and walk in obedience to him. 10 Then all the peoples on earth will see that you are called by the name of the Lord, and they will fear you. 11 The Lord will grant you abundant prosperity—in the fruit of your womb, the young of your livestock and the crops of your ground—in the land he swore to your ancestors to give you.

    12 The Lord will open the heavens, the storehouse of his bounty, to send rain on your land in season and to bless all the work of your hands. You will lend to many nations but will borrow from none. 13 The Lord will make you the head, not the tail. If you pay attention to the commands of the Lord your God that I give you this day and carefully follow them, you will always be at the top, never at the bottom. 14 Do not turn aside from any of the commands I give you today, to the right or to the left, following other gods and serving them.

    Walk in expectation, my precious spiritual family members. And I’ve heard a lot about Cancer Treatment Centers of America in Arizona, I encourage you to try them. The word of God says the righteous will live by faith and let the redeemed of the Lord say so. So right now I declare health and blessing and favor over you Jordan and over your marriage and your home and everything that is yours. I claim all these blessings on your behalf, petitioning God for you all the time in name of Jesus! You, Jordan, are healthy and cancer free. You, Jordan, are blessed and highly favored. Cancer came at you 7 ways and will flee from you 49! I would love to see you at MSNY/Every Nation NYC so we can lay hands on you and pray for you corporately. With all my love- Derri

Leave a Reply

